Review: Avoiding Commitment by K.A. Linde

13345975 When Lexi meets Jack in college, they quickly hit it off and before they know it they are into each other deeper than expected. Jack has been holding his cards and when Lexi finds out she tries to move on with her life.
The book starts 6 years after they first met. After all that time they have been able to keep a friendly relationship and when Jack asks Lexi to do one last thing for him, Lexi can’t resist the pull he’s always had in her life.

The Good: I love emotional roller coasters and this book did not disappoint. I also enjoy the alternation in between present and past scenes. This doesn’t always work for every story and the writer has to be really crafty to be able to pull it off. Needless to say, it was really well done, along with the character development, I was sucked in and I had no idea how would the characters react to the very unexpected situations that were presented.

The Bad: I’m not going to lie. I tried to start this book when it first came out and it must have been a bad time because I couldn’t make it past the first chapter. I knew I wanted to give it a second chance and I’m really glad I did! I just didn’t like Lexi in the first scene. It is tragically set from the beginning and you have to be willing to be open minded to continue. Knowing in advance what I knew about the beginning of the book, I was able to just let the story be told and it was great. The miracle of second chances!

The Ugly: Pet peeve of mine. I’ve seen the couple in the cover in other books. This annoys me so much. I know that it wasn’t intentional and the author probably hates it as well but I have to mention it. A book to me is a the whole package and the cover while it doesn’t add to the story (which was great, by the way) it is important for the book to sell. So there’s that.

If you are like me and you enjoy characters that make want to break something, then this book is for you! Available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble

Leave a Reply

