Review: More Than This by Shannyn Schroeder

16137297 “Learning her ex-husband is going to be a father, Quinn Adams is determined to have a baby of her own—without the partnership of a man. But her sister and friends believe she needs to focus on herself first, and step out of her comfort zone by completing a list of adventures.”

The Good: I think the cover and the little bit I quoted from the blurb sounded promising, so I will say that the marketing for this book worked for me.  The writing is easy to read but for some reason this book took me a while to finish. I was interested in the main characters enough to keep me reading. My favorite part was the portrayal of one of the main character’s family. I just wished it was more fulfilling.

The Bad: I liked so many aspects of this book but the story fell flat on character development and plot. The book had great potential, in fact the author left a few loose ends with so many characters and story lines. At the end all these secondary characters and plot lines felt like fillers. Very disappointing.

The Ugly: The change of point of view in between the characters it was not very well defined. I kept finding myself going back to re-read line after line every time the pov changed. The narration in first person felt a bit void and this made the characters feel at best, two-dimensional.

Thank you Netgalley for this advance reader copy. This title will be available on January 3rd 2013. Check Amazon and Barnes & Noble

Leave a Reply

