Review : There Is No Light In Darkness by Claire Contreras

16304482
“After the mysterious and violent death of her parents, Blake Brennan finds comfort with an unconventional family. As the dramatic loss of her parents continues to haunt her—and hinders her from reciprocating love that others give freely—Blake embarks on a harrowing journey in search for the truth.”

The Good: I loved the mystery and the romance in this book! Both were equally balanced and the character development didn’t disappoint. I quickly felt connected to the main characters and I was totally engrossed on their lives and even their careers! Overall it was a fun read and I loved the cover.

The Bad: It pains me to have this critical eye sometimes but it also helps me do what I love to do best. I was given this ARC for a honest review and at about the halfway mark the writing style changed. At first it didn’t bother me because I figured it would pick up again but that was not the case. The scenes were not rushed but they didn’t have the same flow that the first few chapters had. It was distracting and I was sad about that.

The Ugly: As some of my readers know, I don’t ever read synopses. Synopses steal from me as a reader the ability to discover a new journey. I don’t like to have any expectations or preconceived ideas before I read a book but in this case I wish I knew this book is a PART 1. Nowhere in the cover does it show that this book is part of a series and I have to warn you that this is just half of a story. Towards the end there is a series of  revelations that only lead to more mysteries and the book ends on a big cliffhanger. I wouldn’t have had any problem with it if I had known in advance, but the abrupt ending was a bit disappointing.

Regardless, I will be looking forward to its sequel. This book will release on January 11th through Amazon

Leave a Reply

