Review: Consequences by Aleatha Romig

12368985“Unbeknownst to Claire, for a very long time, she has been within Anthony’s sights. Many of the pivotal events in her life occurred, due to his sinister manipulation. Every action has a consequence, and his actions result in their chance meeting.”

The Good: The amazing writing style, the plot, the character development, the flow, the pace of the story. I mean, everything! Wow this book is one of those that come once in a blue moon. I am usually scared of highly recommending a book to my friends because I hate to build up their expectations but I have no doubt that whatever I say about this book, it will still exceed your expectations. The author is a brilliant story-teller and I was really impressed with her ability to keep the reader interested and in suspense. This book has a good mix of drama, romance, mystery and angst.

The Bad: While the story was flawless the ending was no strong enough for a stand alone. The book is not intended to be a stand alone, and I had the sequel waiting for me, but I always feel that every book out there should be able to stand out as an individual piece of art. It pains me to say that about this book because I loved the story so much. It is such a great story but if I didn’t have the sequel ready to go, I would have been very upset. The ending leaves too many questions unanswered.

The Ugly: Be ready for some twisted scenes, from domestic violence, to rape and mental abuse. I have to say that all was tastefully done but you will still be feeling a wide range of emotions from what the main character has to endure. Remember that the ugly in my reviews is always subjective, and while it was a little grotesque to read certain scenes, they were necessary for the story to remain truthful. Overall, just a warning for the faint-of-heart!

Do yourself a favor and get your own copy now! Available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

3 thoughts on “Review: Consequences by Aleatha Romig

  1. I was a victim of domestic violence but still have to say I loved these 2 books and can not wait for the next one. Keep up the good work Aleatha. This book makes you think. domestic violence is a hard subject to deal with.

  2. Thank you for your comment Cindy. I know some subjects are really hard to describe without being gruesome. Aleatha did a good job while writing those scenes and I hope other people feel the same way. I know she doesn’t mean to promote domestic abuse as something that is acceptable.

  3. I could see how Clarie could still fall in love with Tony and stay in love with him even with everything going on. I myself wanted to kill him but I understood. I agree with you Luisa it is hard to describe but the way Aleatha wrote it with tenderness mixed in WELL DONE

Leave a Reply

