Review: Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren

cover23350-medium “Whip-smart, hardworking, and on her way to an MBA, Chloe Mills has only one problem: her boss, Bennett Ryan. He’s exacting, blunt, inconsiderate—and completely irresistible. A Beautiful Bastard.”

The Good: This was a quick, fun read and I personally liked the character development. Also the writing was casual and entertaining which should appeal to any reader looking for a short fun story.

The Bad: As some of you may know, this story used to be a Twilight fan-fiction. Once upon a time (not too long ago) I would have passed on it, but I was interested in reading this story because it went straight from fan-fiction to a traditional publisher. I figured, if a publisher deems it good enough, then it must be. I think my expectations were greater because of it. In general I felt it lacked substance.

The Ugly: It needs more plot. The characters were really well done but the story was shallow. I would have loved to see a subplot or more conflict. The story left me unsatisfied.

Credit: Thanks to Netgalley for this ARC. This book will be available tomorrow February 12th at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Leave a Reply

