Review: True Love Story by Willow Aster

17166702“Before Sparrow Fisher moves to New York City, she meets Ian Sterling, a musician Sparrow has dreamed about since she first saw him. The attraction is instant, but their relationship isn’t so simple. Over a five year span, Sparrow and Ian run into each other in unusual places. Each time, Sparrow has to decide if she can trust him, if he feels the same for her, and finally, if love is really enough.”

The Good: I really loved the plot and the character development in this story. Sparrow, the main character is funny and very likable. I think the reader can easily relate to her and her struggles. The plot is quite different and I was pleasantly surprised with a few of the twists. Warning, this story made me cry ugly tears a few times.

The Bad: Because of the synopsis I thought we would be seeing more of the main character’s struggle with a conservative family, but once I read past the first few chapters I noticed that her parents were actually quite relaxed for being preachers. Willow is a good kid and she has morals, but she doesn’t really play the goody-two shoes part. I just thought it was a little deceiving (reason #749 why I hate reading synopses) and I made a mental note on that. I wasn’t sure if she was just out of character or if that’s how the author intended it to be.

The Ugly: Besides the ugly tears you will be shedding with this book, there’s nothing else I can say about it. I enjoyed the story very much and had a hard time getting into another book for a couple of days after finishing up the ARC that I receive from the author.

Release day is February 19th. Mark your calendars!

ETA: Released early. Get your copy today on Amazon

Leave a Reply

